Our team is proposing a permanent Women of Hopkins art exhibit for the DLC’s 2016 Diversity Innovation Grant. Help us get funding by voting for us (and encouraging your friends to vote!) on the JHU Idea Lab website (https://myidealab.jhu.edu/a/dtd/Women-of-Hopkins/816853-32786) between April 18th and 28th. Here is a preliminary mockup of our vision:


The women we hope to celebrate are alumnae and affiliates of Hopkins, including:

Maria Goeppert-Mayer (1906-1972), Nobel laureate in physics for nuclear shell model of the atomic nucleus

Madeleine Albright (1937-) First female secretary of state

Rachel Carson (1907-1964) Marine biologist and conservationist, author of “Silent Spring”

Jody Williams (1950-) Political activist, Nobel Peace Prize for work banning land mines.

Alice Hamilton (1869-1970) Toxicologist and first female faculty member at Harvard University

Linda Cureton (1959-), Applied mathematician, former CIO of NASA.

Grace Endearing (1900-1988), Creator of the whooping cough vaccine.

Helene D. Gayle, CEO of McKinsey Social Initiative, global leader in humanitarian aid

Virginia Apgar (1909-1974) Anesthesiologist, inventor of the Apgar score for assessing newborn health

Bonnie Bassler (1962-) Molecular biologist, identified the genetic circuit that controls quorum sensing

Florence Bascom (1862-1945) Geologist, first woman hired by United States Geological Survey

Nitza Margarita Cintron (1950-) Chief of Space Medicine, NASA

Bernadine Healy (1944-2011) Cardiologist, first female head of the NIH

Sivaramakrishna Iyer Padmavati (1919-) First female cardiologist in India

Meg Urry- President of the American Astronomical Society, formerly on Hubble Telescope faculty

We welcome more nominations from you. Just write your suggestions in the comments section and help give your heroes the recognition they have earned!