This is an editorial in the Journal of General Physiology about the lack of gender equity in the physiology community. It contains many useful statistics and links to the NIH databook.

Particularly interesting is this paragraph:

As a scientist who is a woman, I believe that my every professional step is affected by my gender. No matter where I am or what I do, my perception is that I am seen as a woman scientist rather than as a scientist. When I face rejection, I wonder whether gender bias played a role. When I succeed, I ask myself whether I have received favored treatment as a minority. In a conference room full of male speakers, I feel that I don’t belong. Yet I find it unbearable to be the token woman. Even institutional efforts meant to evaluate diversity issues in order to address them can problematize female gender, as does the title of the National Science Foundation Report, “Women, Minorities, and Persons with Disabilities in Science and Engineering: 2013” (National Science Foundation ADVANCE Program, 2013). When I earned my PhD in 1993, I was not aware that I would be a pioneer. Hadn’t first- and second-wave feminism already transformed academic culture to create a level playing field and a welcoming culture? The data in Fig. 2 tell me that the burden of pioneering will be borne by female graduate students and postdoctoral fellows of today, as well as by those of the next decade, and the next, and the next.

Full Citation:

Sharona E. Gordon (2014) “Getting nowhere fast: The lack of gender equity in the physiology community” J. Gen. Physiol. 144: 103.

